Tomorrowland awarded as Best European Festival

During the opening night of the Eurosonic Festival in Groningen (The Netherlands), Belgian music festivals again won several major prizes. Tomorrowland carried off first prize by winning the award for Best Major Festival. Pukkelpop and Herman Schueremans, the organiser of Rock Werchter, were also among the winners.

It's quite an understatement to say that Flemish and Belgian music festivals can boast a solid reputation abroad. Since 2009 this positive image has been confirmed every year thanks to the European Festival Awards. The winners are picked by both the music industry and public vote. Belgian festivals invariably crowd the shortlists in all categories and often end up with the first prize.

For the first time in the history of the European Festival Awards, electronic music rose to take the crown for Best Major Festival, courtesy of Belgium’s mighty Tomorrowland – widely hailed as the festival success story of the year. With its fairytale scenery, excellent line-ups and tight organisation, Tomorrowland lures a record number of visitors year after year. In 2012 about 180,000 dance-lovers from 75 countries visited the festival.

The two most important industry-oriented awards were both taken back to Belgium, with the team behind Pukkelpop being declared Promoter of the Year – a heart-warming accolade in light of the tragedies that befell the event when it was hit by a freak storm last year.
Herman Schueremans, from Belgium’s division of Live Nation, received the Lifetime Achievement Award.

The winners: public vote
    Best Major Festival: Tomorrowland (B)
    Best Medium-Sized Festival: Heineken Balaton Sound (Hungary)
    Best Small Festival: Tauron New Music Festival (Poland)
    Headliner of the Year: Foo Fighters (USA)
    Newcomer of the Year: Of Monsters and Men (Iceland)
    Best European Festival Line-up: Rock Am Ring/Rock Im Park (Germany)
    Best Indoor Festival: Sensations (Netherlands)
    Festival Anthem of the Year: Lykke Li – 'I Follow Rivers' (Sweden)
    Best New Festival: Electro Magnetic (Germany)
The winners: industry jury
    Lifetime Achievement Award: Herman Schueremans
    Promoter of the Year: Pukkelpop (Belgium)
    Artists' Favourite Festival: Roskilde (Denmark)
    Green Operations Award: We Love Green (France)

More info: